What Is a Sampler Quilt? A sampler quilt is a quilting project that does not repeat the same quilt block within its layout. A large percentage of sampler quilts are designed with twelve different quilt blocks but any number of unique quilt blocks can be used in the design. A 19th Century quilt by Jane Sickle is an intricate sampler made up of 225 different patchwork quilt blocks and pieced borders. Brenda Manges Papadakis drafted and published all of the tiny blocks used in that quilt and today there are thousands of ‘Baby Jane quilts’ that have been made by quilters worldwide.

Make Your Own Sampler Quilt

Some of the quilts in this gallery were made from my First Anniversary Sampler quilt pattern and they’re an excellent example of just how different quilts can be even when sewn from the same instructions. Variations of the Scrap Happy Sampler Quilt pattern are represented in the gallery, too. You don’t really need a special quilt pattern to make a sampler quilt. Find a layout you love and replace its quilt blocks with a variety of designs of the same size. Search my archives to find same-sized quilt blocks. Try the Medallion sampler quilt pattern if you’re looking for a small project. The design is mostly made up of 6" square quilt blocks, with a 12" block at its center. Use this easy quilt layout with patchwork sashing and cornerstones to make a quilt with any 12" square quilt blocks of your choice. Use simple sashing and cornerstones to surround any group of quilt blocks. Another layout option is made by surrounding twelve quilt blocks with easy mitered frames that are a bit like Attic Windows quilt blocks.

The Farmer’s Wife Sampler Quilt The quilt measures 54 x 70. I can’t say that any one thing inspired me to make this quilt, except the fact that I had a lot of blue scraps that I needed to use. Note from Janet: You’ll find the twelve blocks and finishing instructions for the quilt in my Anniversary Sampler Quilt pattern. I used fabric from Australia and fabric we have available in Bangkok. The girls at Our Home Quilting in Bangkok hand quilted it with Aboriginal art symbols, such as concentric circles which represent water wells. I am very happy with the result and it is a gift for my sister back home in the U.S. This quilt took over a year to complete because I was traveling back and forth to California to visit my little sister who was battling (and won!) pancreatic cancer. She is 19 now and an inspiration to me. The bright colors of this quilt remind me of her. I love you, Hallie. The quilt measures 47 X 60. The quilt is made from half of the blocks I received – the rest are still waiting to become a quilt. I gave the quilt to my mother for Christmas 2005… all of the Christmas fabrics I used had come from her stash, as I didn’t have a stash of my own at that time."